Skip to content Skip to footer


Thanks to the large donation to the Society from publisher Yannis Horn (1912 – 1999) in memory of the actress Kyveli, in 1994 the independent management fund was established under the name “Kyveli – Yannis Horn Scholarships”, which is managed by the Board of Directors of the Friends of Music Society.

The purpose of the donation is:

  1. The granting of scholarships for studies lasting one academic year in specialities defined each time in the declaration by decision of the Board of Directors.

Until 2021, 49 Kyveli – Yannis Horn Scholarships have been awarded for continuing studies abroad in the fields of: Musicology, Music Librarianship, Music Education and Teaching of musical instruments, Conduction of children’s choir, Composition, Construction – Repair of musical instruments, Cultural Heritage Management, Music Production – Sound engineering, Scenography – Costume Design, Stage Management, Theatre and Film Techniques, New media technologies.

  1. The granting of financial aid to young scientists for the production of a cultural project or scientific content. In this context, 13 special grants have been awarded to date for studies of various content.

In recent years, great emphasis has been placed on the publication of works concerning the study and processing of the Greek Music Archive and the valuable collection of the “Lilian Voudouri” Music Library, in order to make the best possible use and promotion of them.

The Advisory Committee of the Kyveli – Yannis Horn Scholarships has consisted of, depending on the field of application, of personalities such as: Yannis Horn, Dimitris Horn, Melina Mercouri, Marios Ploritis, Nikos Kourkoulos, Leon Karapanayotis, Pantelis Voulgaris, George Patsas, Eleni Varopoulou, Seraphim Fyntanidis, Maria Karavia, Pantelis Kapsis, Thanos Mikroutsikos, Dimitris Maragopoulos, Alkis Baltas, Nikos Tsouchlos, Alexandros Myrat, Dimitris Semsis, Lambros Liavas, Christoph Stroux, Stephanie Merakos, Daphne Manesis, Panos Vlagopoulos, Leda Masoura, Olga Kalogriadou, Kostis Dellas, Christos Papatheodorou etc.